Statement of Software Principles

The Statement of Principles represent guiding principles for EIC Software. They have been endorsed by the international EIC community. The endorsers are listed below. The Statement of Principles are also available as PDF version.

Statement of Principles

1. We aim to develop a diverse workforce, while also cultivating an environment of equity and inclusivity as well as a culture of belonging.

2. We will have an unprecedented compute-detector integration:

3. We will leverage heterogeneous computing:

4. We will aim for user-centered design:

5. Our data formats are open, simple and self-descriptive:

6. We will have reproducible software:

7. We will embrace our community:

8. We will provide a production-ready software stack throughout the development:


W. Armstrong (Argonne National Laboratory), M. Asai (Jefferson Lab), J. Bernauer (Stony Brook University), A. Bressan (University of Trieste and INFN), G. Bozzi (University of Cagliari and INFN Cagliari), W. Deconinck (University of Manitoba), M. Diefenthaler (Jefferson Lab), C. Dilks (Duke University), D. Elia (INFN Bari), P. Elmer (Princeton University), C. Fanelli (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), S. Fazio (University of Calabria and INFN Cosenza), O. Hen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), D. Higinbotham (Jefferson Lab), T. Horn (Catholic University of America), J. Huang (Brookhaven National Laboratory), A. Jentsch (Brookhaven National Laboratory), S. Joosten (Argonne National Laboratory), K. Kauder (Brookhaven National Laboratory), D. Keller (University of Virginia), J. Lajoie (Iowa State University), E. Lancon (Brookhaven National Laboratory), J. Landgraf (Brookhaven National Laboratory), P. Laycock (Brookhaven National Laboratory), D. Lawrence (Jefferson Lab), W. Li (Stony Brook University), J. Osborn (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), B. Page (Brookhaven National Laboratory), M. Potekhin (Brookhaven National Laboratory), A. Puckett (University of Connecticut), J. Reinhold (Florida International University), J. Rittenhouse West (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), D. Romanov (Jefferson Lab), T. Sakaguchi (Brookhaven National Laboratory), B. Sawatzky (Jefferson Lab), A. Schmidt (George Washington University), R. Singh (Institute of Nuclear Physics Polish Academy of Sciences), P. Steinberg (Brookhaven National Laboratory), Z. Tu (Brookhaven National Laboratory), T. Wenaus (Brookhaven National Laboratory).